beautifulCHAOS

the most BEAUTIFUL parts of life are born from CHAOS

How Adam Lambert Saved My Life

The other day, I was having a “Writing Pow-Wow” with a new friend, Nic DiDomizio of KeyChanges. We were discussing our querying processes and how crazy subjective the whole crazy process actually is. [Spoiler: it's REALLY CRAZY.] We spoke about how the best rejection from agents comes along with constructive criticism, and the worst, aside from stock letters, are when it’s painfully obvious that the agent just simply doesn’t relate.

Me: From one [female] agent, I got a response that said, “It feels like a typical coming out story” and I was like “I wasn’t aware that there was a “typical” coming out story […] from one agent, I got feedback saying that it wasn’t believable that a kid who goes to an art school in NYC would be afraid to come out…but it’s not about the NYC setting…it’s about crazy religious parents. I wanted to capture that [fear of coming out, even though there is no doubt that he is gay], just because someone is surrounded by gayness, it doesn’t mean that they’re willing to disrupt their family to come out.

Nic
: that is SO TRUE




 and, side note, totally relatable! 




It’s one thing to be around it, but another when it’s so personal




 […] The agent who gave you that feedback has NO idea




 what the gay experience is like. 




EVERYONE is afraid to come out!

We then spoke about [straight] male agents and whether or not we would seek them out (since we’re both querying novels with strong gay male protagonists; mine a coming of age YA fiction novel, his a Sedaris-style memoir). Would they understand? Would they empathize?

Would it matter? During the course of lengthy discussion, I think we came to the conclusion that good writing is good writing; in the end, it’s all about the human connection.

But there was a time when I didn’t always think that way.

Not even close.

There was a time when my novel couldn’t get off the ground because I couldn’t be honest with myself and who I was………………………………………………………….

.

January 2009. Eight months after college graduation. My life was supposed to be different. But nothing had changed. In fact, my life was one long summer vacation. Except every time I looked in the mirror, I hated who I saw staring back at me. I hated that I knew I was gay.

I wasn’t going to come out.

I swore to myself that I would just grin and bear it; I would never hopefully fall in love with a girl [I mean, they have really shiny hair and their boobies are really bouncy and fun. Should be easy, right?]

Or maybe not.

Maybe I’d just be alone and miserable for the rest of my life because I couldn’t fathom the idea of coming out and possibly disrupting my entire family life, not to mention that I was convinced that I would die alone either way. I wasn’t deserving of happiness. I couldn’t be when something was so heinously wrong with me.

It was decided. I would stay locked in the closet until the day I died. I was convinced that I wasn’t going to get into The New School MFA program, and I was working a dead-end job at a Greek restaurant selling Gyros to junky townies who couldn’t even pronounce it correctly. In 2009, my life was a disaster.

What did I do? I quit my job and booked a two and a half month trip out west, where I’d visit Las Vegas, Nevada, Pheonix, Arizona, Seattle, Washington, and Orange County, California.

While I was hopping around from state to state, I was of course hooked on American Idol. I had been for seven straight seasons before, so I undoubtedly was going to watch the new season some way, some how. I missed most of the beginning episodes — the auditions and Hollywood Week were fine, but I never really watched that stuff like everybody else did. I was more interested in the top 12; this way I could invest my time and love into someone who had a chance of winning, as opposed to getting hooked early on and losing my fave to the hot mess of Hollywood Week. Give me the Top 10.

And then I saw Adam Lambert.

He was out. Kind of. Ok, well he hadn’t come out and explicitly said it yet. But I knew.

And every week he came out [pun not intended] on stage and blew me away with that voice.

He was theatrical. He was unafraid. He was completely unapologetic.

I was in love.

.

I suddenly HAD to tune in every week to watch him sing. And it wasn’t even because I loved his voice [which I did] and wanted him to win [I called to vote every week, multiple times], but it was because every week he wasn’t sent home was another week where I finally felt good about myself. When he would succeed, I felt like maybe I could too.

I have no musical talents to speak of, but as a writer I know what it’s like to put yourself out there creatively and have a constant fear of rejection because of sexual preference. Not that I’m saying he was afraid to say, “I’m gay” on national TV before the finale, but I know that I never would have. Then again, at that point, I was prepared to stay in the closet forever. I was afraid as a writer to fully explore a gay character out of fear of rejection. I was afraid to be myself.

And then I heard him sing this during Top 2 week:

.

And suddenly, nothing seemed impossible. I cried listening to the lyrics. [Yes, I'm aware it was written by a black man about racial discrimination, but to a gay kid, discrimination is all the same.]

I was born by the river in a little tent
Oh and just like the river I’ve been running ever since
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

It’s been too hard living but I’m afraid to die
Cause I don’t know what’s up there beyond the sky
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

I go to the movie and I go downtown somebody keep telling me don’t hang around
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

Then I go to my brother
And I say brother help me please
But he winds up knockin’ me
Back down on my knees

There been times that I thought I couldn’t last for long
But now I think I’m able to carry on
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

I felt every single word that he sang. He didn’t have to come out to anybody. I knew. I knew by the look on his face because he felt every word. I listened to his version of that song every day, all day, for months. I listened while I fell asleep. I listened in the quiet of the night and talked to myself about how I needed to face the truth, that this part of me wasn’t going away. And that maybe it was ok. Maybe a change would come.

I’ve been following Adam’s career closely since he was on Idol, partially because he truly became my idol. Adam Lambert became a beacon of hope for me when I thought all hope was lost.

And for that, I owe him everything.

.

It’s very important to have someone to look up to when you’re trying to work through something, especially when it comes to being gay. I can’t stress enough the importance of role models, the urgency to understand, the knowledge of different experiences.

That’s how we learn and grow. That’s how we come to terms with certain demons. That’s how we make peace with ourselves and forgive ourselves for what we can’t change.

It’s important to have a shared understanding.

And that’s where I come in. It’s important for me to speak up. It’s important for me to get my book out there so that, even in a post-DOMA world where everybody things everyone is “accepting,” kids like me might find solace.

This song is called “Outlaws of Love” from his 2012 album Trespassing:

.

Lambert, like most of us, continues to add to the conversation by refusing to not speak up through his art. So thank you, Adam, for giving me the strength to find my voice.

A change is coming.

Change is here.

But that doesn’t mean we have to stop speaking up or telling our stories or contributing to more change.

I sure as hell won’t.

About StevenSSWrites

I'm a writer, adjunct professor of English, pop culture #junkie, human, and an avid imaginer.

71 comments on “How Adam Lambert Saved My Life

  1. noskerdycat
    August 12, 2013

    It is clear to me that Adam Lambert saved and inspired so many lives ( and continues to do so ) by his example and overt bravery to express the truth that he knows as himself. This phenomena extends beyond the label boundaries and includes folks from all gender, race, age and more. It’s a journey and a very indelible one at that – his fans celebrate everyday. I am so happy that you are one of them.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Thank you! I definitely am. He came along at the exact moment I needed him. Don’t know why I’ve never written about him and my fandom before haha

      Thank you for checking out my blog! Hope you keep checking back!

  2. Pat H (@PattiHum)
    August 12, 2013

    Beautiful! Remember when Paula said, “You are the bravest contestant we’ve ever had on the show!” I love that Adam inspires you and now you will inspire others.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      I remember when Paula said that! #IdolGeek

      Thank you for the kind words! And thank you for checking out my blog :)

  3. Lisa Walker
    August 12, 2013

    Wow – thanks for sharing, touching story. Its sad we live in a time when this brings so much difficulty to people yet but change IS coming. My friend went through a similar thing, he didnt come out until his 30′s and it took years of therapy for him to do it. To see him struggle so when telling me for the first time was heartbreaking, when for me it was like really? well huh, ok what shall we have for dinner and for him it was a story of the struggle he had for half his life.
    PS love the flashback effect :)

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      It’s amazing hearing about other’s stories and struggles. It’s incredible what a shared, yet at the same time totally unique and individual, experience it is.

      Thanks for the kind words and sharing your wonderful optimism and acceptance!

      (I love the flashback effect too. Took me awhile to find something awesome haha)

    • WindyJocelyne
      August 13, 2013

      Lisa I dont know if I really understand what you wrote because im a french female and I have some difficult to understand all English language but..If you really tell that Adam’s just come out until his 30 years old its not that. Adam’s coming out at 18 years old when he was close to finish his hight school to is graduations. He talk with his mom and finaly he coming that year so he was out many time before his 30 years old but he thinks its better to dont talk to media before he finish american Idols for not disturb the show because of homophobia peoples he was there for singing and not for talk about his gay life. So he decide to finish american Idol and confirm that yes he his gay to Rolling Stones magasin. But he and his familly and all his friends he have and he have many many friends he live his gay life in front everybody . All peoples around him know’s that..its is just I want to telll you . Thanks for love him BTW.

  4. Linda Ladden 4evrmomof4
    August 12, 2013

    Thank you so much for your moving words…your words are a beacon for anyone feeling different, or marginalized…I do agree, that Adam has made a difference, just having the courage to be himself. i have shared on twitter to encourage others to enjoy your thoughts…. 4evrmomof4

  5. Marie
    August 12, 2013

    I feel sorry for every gay person that has to leave with such fear. I’m glad that Adam was there for you. God Bless.

  6. chica
    August 12, 2013

    Thank you for writing this. I’ve heard so many stories like this from Adam fans and each one touches my heart. Adam saved my life too..in a different way..and just like you said, he came along right when I needed him. Adam is far more than just a singer, he’s a gift. Best of luck to you, in life and in your writing career.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Thank you so much! It’s incredible how much love is coming from the Adam Lambert community today! His fans are really affected by him, and that’s truly inspirational!

  7. JANICE AYERS
    August 12, 2013

    Thank you. So well said. Many years ago my younger brother committed suicide without ever coming out to his family. Part of me still demands to know why he wouldn’t admit to me, his sister with the occasional girlfriend, a legion of of LGBT friends and who had even asked him point blank, “Are you gay?” No one in our family would have judged him. The simple answer – because he was afraid. EVERYONE is afraid to come out. The longer one lives a lie, the harder it is to admit the truth, sometimes even in the most supportive environment.

    I don’t know if his sexual orientation was a factor in the despair that drove him to take his own life, but I do wonder if Adam Lambert had been singing to him, loud and proud from the AI stage, would it have given him hope, courage? Would it have been enough to keep him here?

    Adam arrived too late for my little brother, but I am grateful that he is here now, sharing his strength with those teetering on the edge, pulling them back, encouraging them to stay just a little longer, be brave; it will be okay.

    • Linda Ladden 4evrmomof4
      August 12, 2013

      i am so sorry for your loss, Janice. Times are changing, but ever so slowly for the legions of LGBT kids and adults who fear that coming out will adversely change their lives. Adam is helping facilitate that change…Virtual (HUGS) to you.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Thank you so much for sharing your story. This comment has touched me in ways that I cannot explain. I wish I knew what to say that would be eloquent and ease your pain, but I’m at a loss.

      Nobody really knows the inner struggles each individual faces, and that’s why everybody needs to open up their hearts and minds, and maybe more innocent lives can be saved.

      Fear is a really powerful agent. It is paralyzing.

      I hope that one day we can all experience a fear-free world.

      This will definitely stick with me, long after this post.

  8. J-Bo
    August 12, 2013

    Have you thought about turning your coming out story into a memoir? Sometimes, when I have tried to turn my true stories into fiction, I have also been told they are “unbelievable.” In many ways, I think non-fiction can give us MORE freedom and help us build a faster connection with the reader. Helps you learn a lot about yourself, as well. But then again, I’m biased. Keep trying- good luck!!

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Funnily enough, my concentration in undergrad was creative nonfiction. I pretty much only took memoir-style courses. I actually found that style to be very restrictive…I just couldn’t write about myself without overusing hyperbole and exaggeration to the point that it was no longer nonfiction. Strange, huh?

      But the book that I’m shopping around now, has A LOT of elements of my life in it…just vastly fictionalized. I find that creating something NEW from what to know is way easier than actually writing what I know.

  9. VistaDiva
    August 12, 2013

    What a beautiful story! The true beauty of Adam is what is inside the man and how unselfishly he gives of his goodness. He has…and continues to…light up many lives. I’m glad yours was one.

  10. Rhett
    August 12, 2013

    You write so eloquently and gently about life experience that, for you, must have been just the opposite. Its clear that you are a strong change-maker yourself – just by sharing your truth.

    I, too, have a story of Adam Lambert changing my life. So many of us do – in small and big ways. He is more than a artist. Along with his music he brings a great gift of hope for a future free from bias and discrimination.

    Thank you for your words. I like the way you put them together. =]

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Wow…that’s SUCH an incredibly comment [RE: me writing eloquently about my life + me being a strong change-maker! THANKS!!!!]

      I really hope that, one day, my words can help contribute to the constant {and wonderful} change!

  11. fromthegreyfort
    August 12, 2013

    Thank you so much for sharing your story. As a proud LGBT supporter and equally proud Adam it always makes my day when these two things come together in such an inspiring way.
    I wish I could find a way to give a big hug and some words of comfort and encouragement to every LGBT person who feels alone, awkward and afraid. There is so much more love and support for you than you realize. Stay strong, keep being who you are without apology and keep encouraging others to do the same.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Thank YOU for reading!

      And thank you for the encouraging words! The outpouring of love today has been overwhelmingly wonderful!!

      Keep checking back!

  12. milwlovesadam
    August 12, 2013

    Your blog and the comments posted thus far have me with tears on my keyboard. I am so moved by your story, and so continually amazed at what Adam’s fan community has come to represent.

    Adam and his way of being so gracious, open, thoughtful and kind has truly changed my life. Yes, he came along at just the right time for me too. It’s not just his voice, his talent, or even his physical beauty, it’s what’s Underneath. By being a role model and a spokesperson for change, I truly believe he has saved lives.

    This woman, who always considered herself open-minded, liberal and accepting, has peeled away even more layers and discovered levels of acceptance and reaching out I didn’t know I had.

    I do credit Adam for helping me reach these new levels, and am so pleased that he has affected you as well. Please keep writing, and please know that just by posting this blog, you have helped somebody out there today learn to be out and proud. It does get better.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      FIRST: “Underneath” is INCREDIBLE! #LOVE

      Thank you for taking the time to write such an incredibly moving comment. I really and truly appreciate every single word. I’ve always been a huge fan of Adam, but I’m not one for the whole online fanbase thing, so I didn’t know how truly supportive and awesome all the #Glamberts are!

      It’s really uplifting to hear comments like these, because it proves that people – celebrities, musicians, lonely bloggers and everyday people like me and you – really do add A LOT to the conversation and CAN bring about CHANGE.

      I will keep writing…if I can reach just one person with my words, I’ll consider myself extremely lucky and fortunate! That’s why your comment means THE WORLD to me!!!

      Keep checking back for more! :)

  13. Sherry Sullivan
    August 12, 2013

    Wow you story is so inspiring and I applaud you for writing about it. Adam Lambert has inspired so many people from all walks of life not just members of the LGBT community. I am a straight female and just discovering him has changed my life in many ways. By Adam just being himself he has made me realize that anything is possible..if we can just get beyond the opinions of the masses and realize that Change Is Gonna Come but with time. Nothing worthwhile has ever happened over night. It takes sacrifice and persistence for minds and hearts to be changed. Adam Lambert is one of those people who makes me want to be a better person and never give up. One of these days people will realize how wonderful this man truly is and hopefully more hearts and minds will be opened. Thanks for your story.

  14. Lauren
    August 12, 2013

    Thanks for sharing your story. :)
    Adam does inspire.

  15. Rafy
    August 12, 2013

    Changes are the dynamic of life.

    Another great blog Stevens

  16. Camille Pety (@MalsDoxy)
    August 12, 2013

    Mr Lambert shows all of us, every day how to be a better human being no matter what your orientation. He’s shown us that you can be yourself, accept everyone for who they are and just spread the love. Because we ARE all in this together. I adore the man and his music

  17. Sandy (@wismiss3)
    August 12, 2013

    I am 71 yrs. old and had gay friends, mostly men, when I was an art student. My regret in life is that, even tho I recognized that my uncle was gay, I never verbalized it with him. He had married and had kids, just trying to fit in, but he also drank heavily. He did divorce his wife and moved in with another man. I truly hope he had some happiness at this time. He died a few years ago in his daughter’s arms. His partner had died a couple of years earlier. I would not have been uncomfortable discussing his sexuality with him but I sensed that he would not want to do that. He was accepted in the family but not embraced. Part of the reason, I believe, is because he didn’t trust what they actually thought of him. I wish, with all of my heart, that I had the chance to show him who Adam Lambert was and what he means to so many people. That would have been a good opening for discussion. Love your article and love you.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 12, 2013

      Sandy,

      Thank you so much for sharing your story with me. This particular line: “He was accepted in the family but not embraced” completely broke my heart. It’s sad how similar everybody’s story is, because being accepted and being embraced are really two different reactions.

      Hopefully we, as a society, are going to continue to evolve so that nobody will ever feel that they need to hide again.

      Thank you for your kind words; they mean more than you know!

  18. Lynne
    August 12, 2013

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Adam Lambert has also inspired me and changed my life for the better as well.

  19. Rema
    August 13, 2013

    Just the title of your story alone made me cry. It’s amazing what one brave and honest young man can do. The day he walked into that room to audition was like someone turned the light on again for me. He has helped so many of us through many types of trauma. I’m thankful for him each and everyday! He brings joy to my life, gives me a reason to get up each day and has given me amazing friends I will have forever. I hope all the good he has done brings him lots of good karma and makes all his wished come true and then some. Thank you for sharing your story, it was so touching and no doubt will help someone. You’re stuck with us now! Glamberts got your back! lol

  20. Pingback: Adam Lambert Daily Update – August 13, 2013 | On the Meaning of Adam Lambert

  21. KatieJ
    August 13, 2013

    Steven, thank you so much for sharing your story. I never tire of hearing another story of how this amazing gifted man has inspired someone and changed their life forever, both LGBT and straight. And there are SO MANY. I am only one example of a straight person for whom Adam was the catalyst for changing my life from one of fear and bigotry to courage, love and acceptance, and I know there are countless others whose hearts were changed by Adam. I would love to share my story with you as well. I call it “I Danced with Adam Lambert and He Set Me Free”
    http://hub.me/abNWV

  22. WindyJocelyne
    August 13, 2013

    Steven, thanks for sharing your story, and thanks to love Adam Lambert. I just know him when he pass his first audition and I love him right there. I tell to my sister he will win the A.I for me he won too. So Im a mother who have a gay son. He make his own coming out when he have 17 years old. I love him more. I will never never hate my own child because he is gay. Come on for me it is impossible to not accept him. So I want to know’s more about the gay communauty. So he explain to me and he present me to many of his friends..and now he have is Young 32 years old. He got 6 month more than Adam. So I dont know that in debut of his first audition that he was gay. I dont reconize all gay guys but him I have any dought in my mind at this time. But when I was sure he was I love him more than I love him before too. Because I know where he pass before he make’s is own coming out like my son and how he feel to the homophobic person. So thanks for you life story and good luck with all your beautiful life…dont be shame because you are gay. Its not a choice its a feeling like my son explain to me. x00xx0

  23. glamity58
    August 13, 2013

    Your story is inspiring and I admit that “A Change is Gonna Come” was my favorite Adam song on American IDOL. But I have no where near the story so many LBGTQ and different people do. I am a straight, married professional with 3 kids. I would never stoop so low as to follow some crazy fansite or follow an artist closely. I’ve always loved big voices like Celine Dion, Babs Streisand, Josh Groban, Peebo Bryson, Whitney Houston. But I’ve never followed an artist like Adam before. I sensed something from Adam I can’t explain. His stage presence is really captivating, but I think the majority of people don’t see it. Shallow, closed-minded, and the average person listening to the radio who follow mediocre stars like sheep don’t get it. You and I do.

    Adam changed me in other ways. I felt this need to protect him like my own son (I have a son who is challenged and different but not gay) and fight against those who think his career should end. I called radio stations and made hundreds of comments on websites defending him. I am angry at the music world especially radio (now that I understand the politics a little). And yes, for the first time, this 50 something mom had logins and passwords to “Guide to Gay.com” and “AfterElton.com” to name a few websites. I watch the NewNowNext Awards and discovered LOGO. Adam changed my opinion on marriage equality (I am Catholic). It is sad that the USA doesn’t appreciate what we see in Adam. I am hoping one day they will. In the meantime, I’ll continue to support him and pray for his success so others like you can be helped or “saved.” Thanks.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 14, 2013

      That’s really cool how Adam had that effect on you. It’s really great to hear that your opinion changed on marriage equality. So few Catholics end up their changing their opinion, so it’s great to know that it does, in fact, happen! If you want, you can check out my reaction to the end of DOMA here: http://stevensalvatoreshaw.wordpress.com/2013/06/27/the-significant-death-of-ignorance/

      I agree that it’s really sad that the US doesn’t support Adam the way that they should. Maybe with all of the great changes happening right now with human rights, when Adam comes out with a new single from his next album, assuming that it’s going to be as awesome as his past work was, he’ll be finally strike gold.

  24. glamity58
    August 13, 2013

    So Steve, how can we get the gay community to support Adam so we can continue to see more albums, maybe radio airplay and TV exposure. You’d think with the LBGTQ community alone Adam’s sales would be bigger.

    • stevensalvatores
      August 14, 2013

      I can’t speak for an entire community, but his music is GREAT. With EDM sweeping the nation the last (almost) three years, you would think that his singles from Trespassing would have blown up, especially Never Close Our Eyes. I guess it’s all just about timing.

      If Robin Thicke, an under-the-radar, under-appreciated R&B crooner who I’ve loved for years, can finally have a hit song with “Blurred Lines” (which essentially glorifies rape culture) on his 6th album, then I’m sure radio would be willing to fully embrace a song from a gay man. Then again, the US has always been known for being backwards.

      A straight man can sing about raping a girl, but a gay man can’t sing about loving another man. A little messed up, eh?

  25. Jeanne
    August 14, 2013

    Steven:

    In the interviews with Adam before his audition, I was impressed by his composure, intelligence and candor. Yeah, and then there’s that good looks thing he has going, too. I was praying he could sing. He hooked me at “MaMa…” I realized he was gay when Randy offered the back of his hand for a kiss after Adam had kissed the hands of Paula and Kara. At that moment I thought how cruel of Randy and felt the death knell of Adam’s longevity on the show. Adam with his standout performances during Hollywood Week, his unbelievable rendition of “Believe” and the over the top sex on legs “Satisfaction” showed the audience they were not watching the regular Idol contestant. I waited with breath held in anticipation for what he was going to do each week and he never disappointed. His friendships with the other contestants and Kris Allen were refreshingly honest. I will forever think he broke Idol. There will never be another year like Season 8. Can you tell I’m enamored of this man?

    He gives himself over to his audiences with his messages of love; no matter their race, religion, culture, politics or who they sleep with. He is an inspiration in his charity for LGBT and other causes and has opened hearts and minds with his outstanding vocals and the words they convey. He has never shown any shame or apologized for who he is. He doesn’t need to.

    I am extremely happy for you and the inspiration you found in Adam. He gave you the inspiration, but you took the unknown on your own shoulders that meant facing your fears headon. I’m proud of you. Keep on writing; it is your passion as you easily convey to the reader.

    • Rema
      August 14, 2013

      After all of these years I will never get tired of hearing about peoples first reactions when they first set there eyes on Adam.He most certainly did break Idol and those fools still don’t get what an amazing addition he would be, there loss!

    • stevensalvatores
      August 14, 2013

      Thank you! I really appreciate your words!

  26. Pingback: How to Re-Do Life | beautiful chaos

  27. Pingback: The Lambert Effect | beautiful chaos

  28. how to save a life
    November 1, 2013

    Really Cool, man. It’s great to read stories like these. its people like you who give the rest of the world courage. I hope to one day read that book you wrote

  29. Punching Bags
    November 6, 2013

    I have crappy dread-days where I don’t feel like anyone will get me or understand, and all I need to do is listen to a song and everything is suddenly ok. We all have those musicians who change our lives by relating to us and giving us a voice. Never liked Adam Lambert, but the idea behind this is universal and your writing is fantastic! I hope to read a book of yours soon!

    • stevensalvatores
      November 6, 2013

      I hope to see my book on shelves soon too!

      Music is a HUGE support system. Keep on listenin’…

    • Anonymous
      November 6, 2013

      Hi Punching Bags, just curious to why you have never liked him?

  30. Bernie
    February 4, 2014

    I never knew how talented Adam Lambert was until I saw him perform with Queen. Holy crap he’s amazing.

    This was a beautiful story. Touching, bittersweet. You are a remarkable writer!

    • StevenSSWrites
      February 4, 2014

      Awww thanks!

      And yeah…Adam really is one of the most talented vocalists of this generation, if not THE most talented (male, at least.)

      I really want to get tickets when he goes on tour with Queen next.

      • Maureen Mansoor
        February 5, 2014

        Welcome to the wonderful world of Glamberts!!

    • Rema
      February 4, 2014

      Bernie, you have no idea how happy your comment made me!I have been a fan of Adam’s since he walked onto Idol to audition!He has a voice like no one else and is better live than on his albums. He is so underrated and because radio stations refuse to play his music many people haven’t heard how talented he is.Do yourself a favor and listen to his last album Trespassing I promise you will not be disappointed.
      Rema

  31. Jake
    February 28, 2014

    I never realized this before, but Adam Lambert is fucking HOT. Holy hell. After seeing him on Glee doing that Darkness song, holy hell! Holy hell. Yum.

    • StevenSSWrites
      February 28, 2014

      Yes. Adam Lambert is — and always has been — a fox. I’ve worshipped at the altar of the sex God Lambert since 2009. Check his Rolling Stone cover after he lost Idol. HAWT.

  32. G. Spence
    February 28, 2014

    I was bowled over by Adam the moment he auditioned on Idol; I’d watched the show since its first season but I felt his uniqueness and charisma right from his start. I am a straight woman in her 50s but I have good gaydar and sensed he was gay – I was so glad then, that the Idol producers didn’t boot him after the internet pictures of him kissing his boyfriend emerged during the competition! And he spoke later of how he felt the viewers might then not support him after seeing those pictures – so what did he do? He got out on stage, dressed perfectly, and NAILED “Black or White” in a performance of such electricity Idol had never seen before!! Wow, so purely brave!! I’ll always remember the tears in his eyes as the judges raved about that performance!!

    For me, in a nutshell, Adam has helped me transcend from an attitude of tolerance to a fully embraced acceptance – such a major and positive shift. I am so grateful he has truly enlightened and educated me and so many others!! :)

    • StevenSSWrites
      March 1, 2014

      Yeah, he was my role model during that time, which, as you read, was a particularly difficult time. He emerged at the right time for me. And I’m glad to hear that you experienced a major shift from watching him too. It speaks to the power of celebrity, I think.

      Thanks for reading! :)

  33. Mitch Abbott
    March 1, 2014

    This was such a great read, so empowering and bittersweet. You are a wonderful writer. Now I’m kind of intrigued about Adam Lambert’s music. What would you suggest?

    • StevenSSWrites
      March 1, 2014

      Aww thanks for the compliment!

      These are my favorite Adam Lambert tracks:

      From his first album, “For Your Entertainment”: “Aftermath,” “Broken Open,” “Music Again,” “Fever,” “Sleepwalker”

      From his sophomore album, “Trespassing”: THE ENTIRE ALBUM. Seriously. It’s THAT good.

      From his American Idol days, I would definitely suggest his covers of “A Change Is Gonna Come,” “Mad World,” and “Feeling Good”

  34. GlambertFan
    March 2, 2014

    Adam’s impact is legendary!

  35. Stefanie
    March 10, 2014

    Adam and Queen FTW!

    Just furthering Adam’s relevance is the fact that he’s now touring with Queen. Freddie Mercury was a big role model for a lot of gay men, and now so is Adam! Great piece, beautifulCHAOS!

    • StevenSSWrites
      March 11, 2014

      Yes! I’m trying to get tickets when they go on sale this saturday! DREAM CONCERT!

      • Rema
        March 11, 2014

        Are you sure it’s Saturday? Thought it was Friday for the general public. If you happen not to get any, just send out a tweet including Adams name, I have no doubt you will get some.

        • StevenSSWrites
          March 12, 2014

          You’re right! It is Friday! Thanks! I would have missed out and killed somebody! hahaha

          Also, I’m not sure simply sending out a tweet will do anything :( Of course I’d try haha

          • Rema
            March 12, 2014

            I promise you it would. Lots of us buy extras in case friends don’t get any, then sell them, usually at face value. Good luck! I was lucky enough to see them at Iheart, amazing!!

            • StevenSSWrites
              March 12, 2014

              Ooooh! That’s WONDERFUL to know! Thanks!!!

              • Rema
                March 12, 2014

                Where do you live? What venue will you be trying for?

                • StevenSSWrites
                  March 12, 2014

                  Ideally, Mohegan Sun. But technically MSG is closer because I live right outside of the city. But Mohegan Sun is a slightly smaller venue, which I prefer over crazy large MSG.

                • Rema
                  March 12, 2014

                  I’d love to go to MSG, but can’t afford the plane ticket. I get to go to LA and both Vegas shows! I’m beyond thrilled! Best of luck!

                • StevenSSWrites
                  March 14, 2014

                  I just got tickets to the Mohegan Sun show! Holler! Have fun!!

                • Rema
                  March 14, 2014

                  WOOOHOOOO!!!! So happy you got them! This will be epic!

Tell Me Somethin' Good...

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

(c) 2013 Steven Shaw. All content contained herein is solely the intellectual property of its original author and may not be reproduced without the author's consent. I mean, basically, don't steal my shit. However, I'm ALL about you sharing and linking back and tweeting and facebooking and social networking the hell out of BeautifulChaos. That would be cool. These words are my own, from my heart flown. Oh shit, I totes just plagiarized Natasha Bedingfield. Pretend you didn't see that.

Beautifully Chaotic Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,396 other followers

